A month of craziness

Okay, so this past month has been kind of crazy. To start off. I had little to no time in the studios sadly. Partially because of a need to use Fridays for grading portfolios, partially because there was just a lot going on.

As I posted about previously, I presented a demonstration of Laser Engraved woodcuts at the Pyramid Atlantic Book Arts Fair. It was a great time. I had roughly 20-25 attend the demo, which was a perfect amount for the space and trying to show everything off. I printed a small sample of a walnut veneer and a larger sample off a veneer giving to me by a friend. Here are some of the pictures from the event.

Wood blocks before printing

Wood blocks before printing

BADGE!

BADGE!

Samples of prints I brought to show off

Samples of prints I brought to show off

Some of the people attending my demonstration

Some of the people attending my demonstration

Inking up the small block

Inking up the small block

Running the plate through the press

Running the plate through the press

Pulling the print out.

Pulling the print out.

Showing off a proof of the walnut plate.

Showing off a proof of the walnut plate.

The last four images were taken by a former student, Hope Sorenson of Rabid Werewolf Press. Overall it was a success and the fair was well attended.

After that the next weekend was a wedding in NC, so I was out of commission and then this past weekend was Thanksgiving. I was able to get into the shop for a little bit on Friday but my focus was practicing an accordion fold book for a demonstration for my students.

Practicing accordion fold for 2D final project.

Practicing accordion fold for 2D final project.

The book came out really well and helped me remember exactly how to do it and the best way to teach it to 35 students. OY! I hope to get back into the shop over the winter term. As for my collaborations, I hope to meet up with all three in the next week or two, so that we can catch up. Stephen Lambert recently let me know he almost has the programs completed, so soon we will be able to play with some images to find the source for the final work.

Otherwise this Friday I am headed to Baltimore to drop off some work for the Maryland Art Place Under $500 show on December 12th. This is a exhibition to benefit the 501(c3) and the artists that work with them through their registry and their exhibition space. Come out on December 12th and purchase from great art by local Maryland artists.

Leave a Reply

