Curation

Its been a busy two weeks, but as of 30 minutes ago I have finished printing of the edition. They are looking good, but now it will be time to do some curation. Just a few aspects that are not as consistent as I would like. So I will be spending sometime of the next few weeks going through and using some tried and true techniques to get the edition looking solid and complete. Once done, I will have Mason come over and we will sign the edition and have it ready for the portfolio.

As for the progress in the portfolio I am happy to say I have worked out the issues with its creation and trying to get it shown. For the creation of the physical portfolio, I contacted Campbell-Logan Bindery, http://www.campbell-logan.com/, upon John Risseeuw’s recommendation. They have been extremely professional and accommodating to my needs requests and have answered all of my question promptly. For trying to show the portfolio, I have not been able to find a location in the SF area, so I have decided to enroll in the open portfolio session to allow people to see the portfolio in person and not just experience it through the panel discussion. This will at least get it to the conference and maybe get some promotional work for it. I am really looking forward to the possibility of showing it here in DC with the National Academy of Sciences.

Lastly, I cannot wait to see the final prints, I am currently in the studio helping Georgia Deal with an aspect of her print and it is looking great. I am so curious as to what the others look like and how everyone feels about the process of working with a non-artist in this manner. For me this has been a great experience and I look forward to doing it again with other scientists and engineers, but for the time being I will continue to focus on completing the task at hand and coordinating the next print with my possible next collaborator.

Leave a Reply

