Starting the edition

Its been a busy time with portfolio work, classes and running a workshop at Pyramid Atlantic (pyramidatlanticartcenter.org), but I am here to report that I will be starting the BAT, Bon a Tirer, tomorrow. For those that don’t know, a BAT is a print that is okayed by the collaborator and is the print that the edition is compared to to make sure that everything is being printed properly. A BAT is traditionally only made when an edition is being produced for an artist or collaborator, not when the artist is creating the edition themselves.

As I received my screens, the ink and the paper this past week I am finally able and ready to begin this because even though we have not finalized a last element to the print there are many layers that need to be printed before it, so I will begin those. I have all the films, the colors and three brand spanking new beautiful screens to print with.

As far as the actual portfolio, there is still no word from the conference organizers, so I will be emailing another venue this coming week to inquire as to whether they might have the space to show it. Otherwise, I have heard good things so far from all participants and continue to look forward to the prints.

For R&D editions, this is a big deal to be on the BAT because it not only means another step forward on the initial edition, but it also means that I can start looking for a new collaborator. My plan all along has been to work with a single collaborator at a time until I have an approved BAT and can begin production. At that point, I would continue work until we gather to sign, but I would also begin conversations with others who could become the next collaborator. Currently, I have some feelers out but do not have anyone definite. I would like this edition to be with an artist, but I will not be picky about it. Once I know who, I will post it and get started on the concept. For now, I will probably be slowing the posts down to every two weeks until I have the next edition rolling.

Leave a Reply

