Printmaker Bio

My name is Matthew McLaughlin. I am a digital and photographic printmaker and founder of R&D Editions. I was born and raised in the Washington, DC metro area and have come back after years away for college. I am currently adjunct faculty at the Corcoran College of Art and Design where I teach courses in the MA Art and the Book program and the Printmaking Department of the Fine Arts area. I received my BFA in Fine Arts from Ringling College of Art and Design in Sarasota, FL under the tutelage of Jill Lerner, Patrick Lindhart, and Robert Farber. After a year off from undergraduate college, I moved to Tempe, AZ to attend Arizona State University’s MFA in Printmaking program. There I would work with such great printmakers as Joe Segura, John Risseeuw, Kathryn Maxwell, Dan Britton, Dan Mayer and Mary Hood. Along with my graduate studies, I was in two sessions of Mary Hood’s Map(ing) Project, where I was assistant printer for Steven Yazzie in 2009 and lead printer for Hulleah Tsinhnahjinnie in 2011.

As a printmaker, I work in a large variety of mediums, utilizing which ever form I feel is most appropriate for the imagery I am trying to create. Some of the processes are screen printing, letterpress, relief, etching, lithography, and inkjet printing. My personal work mostly focuses in using digital and photographic processes in the previously listed areas, but I have a solid understanding of the use of each all around. Along with my printmaking skills, I am rather adept at using Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign.

I have chosen to start R&D Editions because I have always enjoyed the collaborative process in printmaking and have for some time wanted to start a press where I can choose who to work with and create new editions. My intentions in collaborating with scientists, engineers, architects, and mathematicians is to create a larger discussion between the fields. I went to a high school focused in science and technology, I gained a lot from that, mainly a strong understanding of those fields, and I have come to realize that my choice to go into printmaking was partially made because of that background.

Through R&D Editions I hope to be able to work with people from all areas to create editions of prints that will expand our current thinking in art and in society. I had a meeting with my first collaborator last week and will be expanding on who and what we will be doing in the coming weeks. This initial edition is part of a larger portfolio based around printmakers collaborating with scientists and engineers, so there will be posts covering future details of the portfolio.

I will try to update weekly.

Leave a Reply

